Should You Buy The New Nintendo 3DS XL – An Analysis as of June 2015

Let me start off by saying what an awful title this handheld system got. I mean come on, Nintendo really shot themselves in the foot. The game is doing well sales-wise, but still, it’s almost as if they have a child running the naming portion of Nintendo. Anyways, let’s get to the meat that’s edible. Should you buy the New Nintendo 3DS?

First off, I feel the need to list the features of the New Nintendo 3DS

New Nintendo 3DS Features

C stick 

-Improved, face-tracking 3D

-Improved CPU

-Amiibo Support

-Larger than 3DS, slightly larger than 3DS XL

In my situation, I upgraded from my old, 2011 3DS to the New Nintendo 3DS XL. Personally, it was a decent jump from me. I never jumped on the initial 3DS XL train, which gave me incentive to pick up the New 3DS XL. Unfortunately, as i traded in my 3DS for credit at the G-Stop, I lost all save data. I recovered my NNID and could redownload all of my games, but it turned me off to buying digital retail games as I lost my data for FE: Awakening, Pokemon Omega Ruby, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, and Bravely Default (along with eshop indies like Shovel Knight). Tip: don’t trade in the 3DS without first transferring content if possible. That was a confusing situation for buyers.

So far, the system has had one exclusive: Xenoblade Chronicles 3D. I’ll be honest, i haven’t beaten it yet and have kind of fallen off the wagon. Hopefully i’ll hop back on soon and make some progress. Nonetheless, it is a great game that deserves it’s spot as an exclusive. The scope of the game is wonderful for a handheld. Other than this though, there aren’t any other exclusives and the C-stick is only used in newer games like Majora’s Mask and Monster Hunter 4. The system, in my opinion, needs some more big name exclusives under its belt; even if that means the New 3DS containing the “deluxe” version of a game and contains exclusive features and content.

Amiibo support is great, but obviously not necessary to the overall experience. I’ve used amiibo in Smash Bros and Xenoblade Chronicles 3D, and the experience i’ve had is pleasant. Very similar to that of the Wii U.

3D viewing is vastly improved, as the camera now tracks your head and adjusts to your position. It’s very relieving, as the 3D in the original 3DS is terrible in terms of the constant need for head adjustments. The overall stereoscopic 3D is not improved though, just the hot spot for face-tracking.

Objectively, the New Nintendo 3DS XL is a great system. The problem is, no one’s totally objective. Everyone has an individual situation. In order to accommodate those situations, i’ve created a list as to whether or not you should buy the system. As always though, take my recommendations with a grain of salt and choose for yourself.

You should buy the New Nintendo 3DS XL if: 

You don’t currently own a 3DS

-You want Xenoblade Chronicles and more exclusive titles in the future

-You have no WiiU, no plans on getting a WiiU, and amiibo that are collecting dust

-You love Nintendo and support everything they do regardless of whether it’s worth it

You should not buy the New Nintendo 3DS If:

-You have a 3DS or 3DS Xl, and none of the new features interest you

-You hate Nintendo, and want to shame every system they release

Leave a Reply

