E3 2015 – The Final Swansong of the WiiU

Before Nintendo unveils their E3 2015 pre-prepared Nintendo Direct, I have a few things i’d like to discuss. First off, I’m excited for what Nintendo has up their sleeves. It’s been stated that they’ll be focusing on games releasing in 2015, but Nintendo always has a couple of aces up their sleeves that are unveiled at E3. Surprises are not only exciting, but imperative to the integrity and respect of the presentation. Last year, Nintendo announced Splatoon, Captain Toad: Treasure Tracker, Yoshi’s Wooly World, Code Name: Steam, and the infamous Amiibo figures. That’s a lot of new announcements, and it’s a pretty safe bet to assume Nintendo won’t create an expected, unexciting show. The second thing I want to talk about, which ties in with the first topic, is that this may be the WiiU’s last E3 where it’s the center attraction. The NX will more likely than not be announced next year, and the big guys at Nintendo have already stated that neither the NX or mobile devices will be discussed at E3 2015. With this being said, this is probably the WiiU’s last E3 with big name exclusives being announced for the console. Now for Nintendo’s sake, they should take this time to announce all of their secret projects that they have been hiding from the public. I’m not here to predict Metroid Prime 4 (although I do think it will be announced), I’m here to predict Nintendo will throw curveball after curveball in their Direct. I believe they’ll demo games like Yoshi’s Wooly World, Xenoblade Chronicles X, and Super Mario Maker in the Treehouse, but save the Direct for new, completely unexpected announcements. Reggie did state that this E3 would contain announcements we didn’t even know we wanted. I’m not taking that statement with a grain of salt, as Nintendo is a silly, creative company that never fails to grab viewers’ attention and show them something truly unexpected. Although this is slightly off topic, I also believe Zelda U will appear in some shape or form. Yes, Nintendo did state Zelda U would not be appearing at E3, but I think it was just a precautionary if they didn’t actually have anything of value to show. Maybe it will be another short trailer or maybe it will be more gameplay, but I think Link will show his sweet face.

Though we’ll find out tomorrow at noon, I wanted to put in my opinion on what I expect from the Japanese company. Hopefully i’m right in predicting an unpredictable E3, because honestly, I don’t even know what I want. Besides Metroid Prime 4, I’m not really asking much from Nintendo. I’m not saying my standards are low, but I just can’t quite fathom what I want to see. Hopefully Nintendo fills that uncertainty with something new and refreshing.

Leave a Reply

